Daily Archives: April 12, 2007

Sara Groves on TV Spot

Wednesday night, while being subjected to another episode of American Idol, I saw a spot for La-Z-Boy sofas with a familiar country-ish sounding song on it… “All Right Here”.

Sara Groves -All Right Here album

‘What is that song” quoth I? After wracking my brain for awhile I realized it was none other than my longtime favorite CCM artist, Sara Groves. She has been my favorite for several years now and is one of the bright spots in the CCM industry due to her profound lyrical ability, insights on life, and choice of producers. My brother & sister-in-law featured some of her songs in their wedding (they also featured songs by Rick Astley, but I won’t even go there).

Rick Astley

Her songs ALL sound different and the form and instrumentation is so creative that her cd’s are a complete delight to experience. I can not write anywhere near this glowingly about any other CCM artist that comes to mind. One of her recently manifested passions is helping the poor in the 3rd world. Due to my “Bono Fatigue” (contracted while I was in the “young adults” demographic at a former church), I am looking for other artists to support and fill my mind with and Sara is at the top of the list.

So anyhow she has consented to selling this riff from her title track of a past CD for commercialization purposes. Why am I not condemning her for this? Because I’m pretty sure she did it to feed more hungry kids. Also I like that she didn’t “sell out” within CCM, she made some bucks and exposure in the corporate world, with La-Z-Boy. Shrewd. Did I mention that she also has a myspace page?